• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Aspiring Aircraft Structures Tech - Seeking advice

bhobson

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi There All;

I would like to chat with anyone in the know about the structures tech life in the military. My application is already in with CF. I'm 43 yrs young and have done my preliminary home work and have passed the physical, medical, aptitude, & interview portions. Last I heard my application was in Winnepeg to be forwarded on to Borden for further consideration regarding my previous training.

I graduated June 2004 from BCIT AME-Structures program, and am interested in joining the forces for further my career. I would really like nothing better than to work on military aircraft.

As this endeavour seems to be closer to a reality, I regarding basic training, housing, promotions, what aircraft would be the most challenging, etc. whether they would really be interested in an old man! LOLMy wife is behind me 100% and it's her great profession that is bolstering this affair. I know that the pay isn't great, but I'm hoping they will give me some credit for my former career. I am ready, willing, and able.

Any replies would be greatly appreciated.

Bob

Hi Bob,

I'm not in the trade so I can't offer you any specific advice other than say that I've worked alongside a few of the guys and have always been impressed with their work. I just wanted to throw in a word of encouragement and let you know that you are not THAT old.  ;D

Best of luck with your application. The pay may not be great but the people and the experience more than make up for it.

Sam

I'm not ACS, but I'm an ATIS tech on an air force base with lots of ACSs.
Hopefully some ACSs will post specific information.

The CF has an interest in you because of your civilian education, the
background as it relates directly to your MOC of choice, and the