• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

any info on entry plans would be appreciated

mbhabfan

Inactive
Reaction score
I am 31 married with one little girl.  I am self employed and have been for the past nine plus years.  I would like to join the forces as a pilot.  I am currently completing my ppl.  I do not have a university degree.  So this leaves the ROTP or the CEOTP (if it reopens) as my two entry plans.  The ROTP doesn't pay enough money for those three years of university to provide for my family.  I was curious to see if anyone has had any luck getting in DEO without the degree?  On the forces website it says "usually"  required when do they make an exception?  I have over nine years of management experience, and I think I have the drive and ambition to succeed as a pilot if given the opportunity.  The CEOTP would be ideal for me...get the entry and eventually get a degree as well which is something I want.  If anyone has any advice it would be greatly appreciated.  I would just like to add that this site is a great idea, I have been reading the posts for a couple of months and this is my first post but this site is great.

One thing you might want to consider with the DEO route is that pilot selection (or selection for any officer trade, but especially so with pilot) is quite competitive.  Because you don't have a degree, that could be the deciding factor when selection boards roll around.  This is all conjecture though, as I'm neither a recruiter, nor a member of the CF yet (give me a couple weeks and that'll change).  You'd have to talk to a recruiter and get their take on it.