• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Any chance to become a pilot now?

jzaidi1

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I apologize upfront for the length of this email but I do need some opinion so please bear with me.  My lifelong passion to become a pilot started when I was 12 years old and circumvented half the globe on an extended family trip when I was 11 years old.

Backstory:
Grew up in NB, NS and joined the air cadets from age 12-17.  I took many courses related to theories of flight, airframe, etc...but was never academically astute enough to win a power/glider scholarship.  At age 17-21 I joined the Communication Reserves (made it to Corporal) which coincided with my last year of high school and first year university (I dropped out after year one due to academics).  I'm now an account manager with a high profile IT company drawing an exceptional salary (6 figures) in Toronto but that itch to become a pilot has returned in a bad way!  I'm now married, 32 years old and I've finally been able to see clearly what I need to do for the rest of my life - pilot military aircrafts.

Anyway here is my dilemma - 32 with no university degree but a burning desire to drop my current career which has taken me 10 years to build and pursue my passion.  University degree - I'll go back! Getting in shape - no problem!  Eyesight - I'll get laser surgery!  Wife & family - They will support me!  So whats the problem you ask?  Well by the time I earn a degree (or start pursuing one) I'll be too old (IMHO) to be selected for fixed wing (I'm talking CF-18s) duties.

Obviously I'm not about to drop things tomorrow and then try and join the Air Force but is there a hope in hell for someone at my age to become a military pilot at this point or have my dreams been dashed by my own lack of focus & procrastination?

Your opinions are more than welcome.

Cpl Jay