• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

A question on military historians speaking on war, and never having fought.

CLPenney

Inactive
Reaction score
Greetings everybody,

Before going any further, I will say I hope this is the right area for this post. If not, I am terribly sorry, it seemed like the best area.

My question, though I would feel better with answers from soldiers themselves, is open to anyone with thoughts on the issue.

'Is it disrespectful for someone who has never served to speak on conflict and how it was/is for service men and women?'

I ask this because, personally, I've always been fascinated by the history of militaries around the world. I am currently studying such things in university, and may wish to go on and teach it myself some day, but one fear has always been with me. What if I somehow do injustice to those who served? The very people I look up to and who’s histories I try and teach? What right do I have to do such a thing?

I guess the overall question is 'do you think teachers of military history loose some of their clout if they never served?'

I may serve myself someday. I love my country and would be honoured to serve her, and keep harm from befalling her. That being said, I would at least like to educate people on those who have served, and I have nothing but the highest respect for both the service men and women, and the teachers.

I guess I just wish to hear the views of others.

Thank you in advance for replying, please pardon any spelling mistakes I might have missed.

Good night and God bless.