• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

6.5 creed bolt vs ar platform

AbdullahD

Inactive
Reaction score
Thinking about building/buying a long range competition rifle. Always believed bolt were far more accurate, but with advances in the semi auto realm, was wondering what the opinions on building an ar10 6.5 creedmore are...

Budget is roughly $5,000 scope included. Looking to be my birthday present to myself 😂

Abdullah

Ps I work as a conductor with CN now.. I sadly had issues with my knees and my foreseeable future I wont be able to enlist. But a side benefit I am far far healthier then I used to be. So I am happy for that :) more years with my family.

Long range shooting is expensive, it can be done with 5.56 and I have a friend that does that out to 1,000m. Bolt action tuned. An AR platform means you restricted to the range and is there a range nearby that is greater than 200m? There is a new AR-10 based rifle out, which is non-restricted. $5,000 sounds a lot, but good glass will set you back $2500 alone. Also you need a good press, long range shooting is almost more about ammo quality control than shooting.

http://www.thefirearmblog.com/blog/2016/07/28/the-canadian-non-restricted-ar-10-albert-tactical-modern-hunter/

I'd go for the bolt in 6.5, my friend has a cadex in 6.5 creedmore and that thing is a laser beam out to 1000. I have heard great things about this savage stealth and at this price you can't go wrong. Grab a rifle like this and dump the rest into a scope/bipod combo and your laughing. I shoot long range with .308 and the 6.5 out performs it in every way hands down. I have owned lots of savages and currently have the 10 FCP-SR and love that rifle. When your shooting bolt action out to a thousand and here the ping of that steel target there is no better feeling. Hell even at 4-500 metres it's still so satisfying.