• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

2023 UCP Alberta election

I'm not a lawyer, and all of my legal education and experience are in tort/contract/employment law, but to my reading there is a pretty clear line where this act crosses from "laudable attempt to protect against Federal overreach" and "laughable attempt to apply sovcit-esque "rules don't apply to me- I'm special" bullshit at at governmental level", and that line is: 3(b)(ii) OR "causes or is anticipated to cause harm to Albertans", especially given the fact that the act makes no effect to define harm or apply thresholds to that clause. It effectively gives them carte blanche to ignore any Federal law or act they don't like, regardless of whether it is within Federal jurisdiction, for any reason that they can justify to themselves.

That clause undermines any noble/justified intent the act may have. Were it limited to giving the province the power to reverse the process of court challenge on issues where it legitimately has grounds to believe the Feds overreached- great, god speed Alberta. But its not.

I'm not a lawyer, and all of my legal education and experience are in tort/contract/employment law, but to my reading there is a pretty clear line where this act crosses from "laudable attempt to protect against Federal overreach" and "laughable attempt to apply sovcit-esque "rules don't apply to me- I'm special" bullshit at at governmental level", and that line is: 3(b)(ii) OR "causes or is anticipated to cause harm to Albertans", especially given the fact that the act makes no effect to define harm or apply thresholds to that clause. It effectively gives them carte blanche to ignore any Federal law or act they don't like, regardless of whether it is within Federal jurisdiction, for any reason that they can justify to themselves.