• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

2022 CPC Leadership Discussion: Et tu Redeux

Right now Charest is the only one I'd consider voting for. He's in his sixties, far from over the hill.

Leave Houston where he is a few years!
That would be my plan too, if I were a conservative who want to see socially progressive, fiscally responsible government in Canada at some point during this century.

I'm not a political scientist and to be honest I don't earnestly follow the minutiae details of Cdn politics. From what little that I know or think that I understand, I do have the following questions:
How/when to did the CPC moved further to the right of the political spectrum? Are they out of sync with the views of the Cdn mainstream or is this simply a regional difference or perhaps rural vs urban split?
What happened to the socially progressive, fiscally conservative/responsible members of the CPC?
How did the socially conservative members gain control of the party? Or they simply more vocal?

I believe that the majority of Cdns (perhaps concentrated in the urban centres) do support : LGBT rights; responsible spending - balanced budget and pay down debt; free trade (incl between Provinces); less government bureaucracy; tax reform; individual freedoms; free speech; support for small businesses; and so forth. I guess this means me a Red Tory or bluish reddish Tory.

Cheers

I'm not a political scientist and to be honest I don't earnestly follow the minutiae details of Cdn politics. From what little that I know or think that I understand, I do have the following questions:
How/when to did the CPC moved further to the right of the political spectrum? Are they out of sync with the views of the Cdn mainstream or is this simply a regional difference or perhaps rural vs urban split?
What happened to the socially progressive, fiscally conservative/responsible members of the CPC?