• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Gunfighting and Neuroscience: Why Using Your Front Sight Might Kill You

daftandbarmy

Army.ca Dinosaur
Reaction score
Both eyes open....

Gunfighting and Neuroscience: Why Using Your Front Sight Might Kill You​

Success in a gunfight doesn’t depend on how well you shoot. It depends on how well you see. Unfortunately, everyone in the tactical and self defense communities trains endlessly on the mechanics of shooting, while completely ignoring the more important aspects of seeing. In this article we will review some new research that drastically impacts the basics of firearms training.

Many years ago in a universe far far away, I studied psychology. Part of my training for this degree required that I take cognitive psychology, which covers the biology of the brain and body, especially vision systems. This might seem somewhat far afield for psychology, but not all psychologists listen to patients talk about trauma on a couch. Many psychologists spend a career researching perception, cognition and, other aspects of consciousness.

I can say with experience that your perception and vision systems are very complex and even researchers specializing in these areas have much more to study before anything like a complete understanding is achieved. For this article, we will discuss a few of these research concepts such as, attentional control theory, and the neuroscience behind the quiet eye.

Quiet Eye, Sports, and Gunfighting​

Long time readers of this website will remember I wrote an article entitled, “Neuroscience, Expert Gunfighters, and the Quiet Eye,” several years ago. In that article I reviewed some cool research where a group of SWAT officers were compared to rookie police officers in a use of force scenario.